Show/Hide Toolbars

SQL Backup Master Help

Navigation: Backup job editor

Overview

Scroll Prev Top Next More

The Database Backup Editor window allows you to define database backup jobs, and is broken up into several key areas.

 

Source

 

Shows your current database connection (if any) and a listing of databases to be backed up. For more information, see the Source databases help topic.

 

Destinations

 

This area shows you a listing of backup destinations and allows you to manage them. For details, see the Destinations help topic.

 

Configuration

 

The configuration area of the backup job editor includes the following fields:

 

Job status - Shows whether the backup job is enabled or disabled (click the link to toggle between these states). When a backup job is disabled, it cannot be executed (either directly by a user or via the scheduler).

Schedule - Shows a summary of the current backup schedule, which you can click to edit. For details on editing backup job schedules, see the Scheduling help topic.

Job run as - Shows the current user execution context for the backup job. You can change this via the Windows account tab of the Backup Job Settings window.

Email notifications - Provides a summary of current email notification configuration (click to edit).

Backup name - This is the backup job name as it appears in the main window backup listing.

Backup description - Provides a space for descriptive notes regarding this backup job. Will be shown in the main window job listing when available.

 

Job Settings

 

To edit settings for your current backup job, click the Backup job settings link in the lower left corner of the backup editor window. See the Job settings help topic for details.

 

Saving the Backup Job

 

When you have finished editing a database backup job, click the Save button to commit the changes or Cancel to discard.